The Foods and Flavors of Fall

The Foods and Flavors of Fall

Is It Really Fall If You’re Not Drinking A Pumpkin Spice Latte…?

Yes, it’s true – fall is my favorite season. It’s my favorite time of the year. It’s a beautiful, magical season filled with coziness and wonder. Fall isn’t just a season for me, it’s an experience. Every year, I feel like I have to experience fall to the fullest. From the sights to the sounds to the smells to the tastes, I want to experience it all. The best part of fall to experience is truly the tastes.

I love baking and cooking in general. As I have mentioned before, I love cooking and baking with seasonal produce. Though it’s starting to get harder to find fresh produce in the northeast towards this time of the year, the produce that is available is golden. To me, fall foods and flavors are so specific and festive to the season. I try to harness the powers of all those fresh flavors and foods autumn has to offer every year.

Here are a few of my favorite fall foods and how to use them this fall:

Apples

I could probably eat apples 24/7 if I didn’t need to get other nutrients into my diet. Every time I go to the grocery store, I pick up at least three apples to stock inside my fridge. I’m actually addicted. I love apples because there are so many different variations. Go to any apple field and you can spend hours getting lost in apple, ranging from sour to extremely sweet. I also love how different apples types have different functions. Some are meant for baking, others are meant to be eaten raw or made into an applesauce.

Raw

An apple is a great snack. It’s portable and quick! Because there are so many different variations of apples, you’ll never go bored! (It’s practically like trying to eat every flavor of Pringles… It’s almost impossible!) You’ll always find a new flavor to try. I really like pairing my snack of an apple with a fat and/or protein. An apple with peanut butter is classic. Almond butter also tastes great. A lot of times, though, I eat my apples with cheese. I think cheddar cheese goes best, but you can experiment with brie, goat, and other cheeses.

Baked

I’m addicted to apple pie. I think I actually have a problem. I’ve eaten like two whole apple pies within the past month almost completely by myself. Yeah, I really love apple pie. (Now, I’m going to cry because I really want apple pie, but I don’t have any available to me at the moment). While apple pie is my favorite version of baked apples, any type of baked apples is absolutely delicious. As an added bonus, most apple recipes are quick and easy.

  • Apple Pie – Obviously, my top obsession.
  • Apple Crisp – Like apple pie but with a crumb topping and no pie crust. Sometimes I like to mix it up and have crumb instead of pie crust.
  • Baked Apples – I like to have baked apples with a heaping scoop of vanilla ice cream and a dollop of whipped cream.
  • Apple Bread – I haven’t my own apple bread yet, but I have tried other homemade versions of it. They’re usually very moist and delicious.

Liquid

I had to include a fall cocktail in this post! Last year, my mom and I broke out the juicer my sister got for my dad for Father’s Day years ago (needless to say, that thing hasn’t seen the light of day since it left the store), and we made our own fresh squeezed apple martinis. We went to a local farm and selected a variety of apples. We skinned them, cut them, and juiced them (we knew that juicer would come in handy one day). Then, we used the fresh juice to create our very own cocktail.

OMG, it was SO. GOOD. I can still taste the fresh apple juice in my mouth. It kind of tasted like apple cider, but a little thicker and more organic. We’re making it again for a family party this weekend. I can’t wait!

I can’t find the exact recipe we used but here is one that is very similar. For our cocktail, we couldn’t find apple liqueur, so we used pear liqueur instead. We also didn’t add simple syrup. The cocktail is already sweet enough from the fresh-pressed juice. If you don’t have a juicer handy, I found a recipe that uses a blender instead!

This cocktail is definitely worth all the work (if you’re 21+, of course)!

 

The Foods and Flavors of Fall

Pumpkin

To this day, my dad still calls me his pumpkin. I was born in October, so there’s the obvious reason why. I didn’t really eat many things with pumpkin in them until I was older. Whenever my family and I would carve pumpkins, we would scrape the seeds out and toast them in the oven with a hint of salt. My mom also used to make a pumpkin log for all of our fall family parties. I always liked the pumpkin log, and I still have vivid memories of my mom baking it in the kitchen. Since childhood, I’ve discovered other ways to use pumpkin in my baking.

  • Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Frosting – This is probably one of my favorite ways to eat pumpkin. The cinnamon frosting just naturally goes with pumpkin!
  • Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread – I tried making this recipe last year and it came out a little too wet. I would suggest maybe using less pumpkin if this happens to you. Overall, I would definitely try making it again.
  • Pumpkin Log – The creamy texture of the cream cheese inside of the log meshes together perfectly with the moist cakey part. This baked good makes me very nostalgic.

Cinnamon

Cinnamon is right up there with chocolate on my “Best Things to Bake With” list. I will personally use cinnamon in almost all of my baked goods at any point during the year. Although, when I think of fall, I think of cinnamon-scented goodies baking in the oven. I love cinnamon because it pairs well with almost anything and it tastes just as scrumptious on its own. Out of all things cinnamon, my favorite is a good old-fashioned crumb cake. For me, the best crumb cake is one that is moist and buttery with large melt-in-your-mouth cinnamon-filled crumbs. Ugh, now I really want to make my favorite crumb cake recipe.

  • Crumb Cake – This is by far my favorite crumb cake recipe. Last winter, I think I baked one of these bad boys like every three weeks. They’re that amazing! Pro tip: throw some chocolate chips into the cake batter. You’re sure to thank me!
  • Cinnamon Buns – Cinnamon buns are a classic comfort food. They’ll help you keep warm throughout the fall.
  • Cinnamon Apple Cider Donuts – Is it really fall if you don’t eat a cider donut? Of course not! Try making your own or get them at your local cider mill.

Squashes

You know how much I’m obsessed with squash. Ever since I became vegetarian, I have learned to love squash. I guess I was never a huge fan of squash before that because I didn’t really know how to cook a squash. Now, I have learned that squashes can beooked and eaten in so many different ways. My favorite squashes are definitely spaghetti squash and zucchini when they are cooked in noodle-form.

Here are a few squashes and my favorite ways to eat them:

  • Spaghetti squash, as spaghetti – I prefer spaghetti squash over zoodles. Unfortunately, spaghetti squash takes a long time, so I don’t get to cook it that often. I really like this garlic parmesan spaghetti squash recipe with mushrooms.
  • Zucchini, zoodles – I love zoodles because they’re simple to make and a great pasta-substitute. I think they taste best in a vegetarian bolognese.
  • Acorn squash, stuffed  – I have yet to try to make my own stuffed acorn squash, but I always get it at one of my favorite restaurants. This mushroom and quinoa stuffed acorn squash is the closest recipe I could find to what the restaurant makes. It’s soooo good!!

 

So that’s that. I love fall and all of the flavors and foods associated with it. Eating some of these foods, like the pumpkin log, give me feelings of nostalgia. Others remind me of more recent memories. And, some of the foods are memories yet to be made. Try a new recipe this fall with some of your friends, relatives, and other loved ones to make new memories.

Have a flavorful week, my Dolls!

 

Have an even better fall by putting yourself first this season. Read “Learn How to Put Yourself First and Lana Del Rey’s ‘Get Free.'”

To get a more in-depth look at the world of The Porcelain Doll, be sure to follow me on InstagramTwitter, and Pinterest. Also, check out my Facebook pageYouTube channel, and poetry blog.

4 thoughts on “The Foods and Flavors of Fall

Leave a Reply

