How to Step Out of Your Comfort Zone

How to Step Out of Your Comfort Zone

pop that bubble

Back in high school, I was a very different person than I am right now. People I recently meet are incredibly surprised when I tell them what I was like back then. In high school, I was very quiet, kinda shy and didn’t really talk to many people outside my group of friends. Now, I like talking to new people. I’ll have conversations with random people in line at the grocery store. I’m not afraid to go back up to the counter at Panera and complain if my order is wrong. I did have a few of these qualities while I was in high school. I just held myself back from using them. This was especially true when talking to people I had known basically since kindergarten.

Going to college and working at my jobs have definitely helped me break more out of my comfort zone. College was a clean slate. I wasn’t going to the same school with the same kids since kindergarten anymore. I didn’t have to be confined to the same friend group just because it was convenient. In college, I learned how to branch out. Working in promotions helped me become even more outgoing when meeting new people. My experiences at both college and my job not only helped me in a social aspect, but it also helped me step out of my comfort zone in other ways. They helped me learn how to do things that used to scare me.

I’m incredibly happy that I stepped out of my comfort zone. I definitely feel like I’ve finally become the person that I was meant to be. I mean, I always had those qualities inside of me. I just suppressed them sometimes.

Stepping out of your comfort zone is daunting, but it’s worth it. This week, I wanted to talk about what a comfort zone is, why I think it’s worth stepping out of it and how to step out of it.

What Is a Comfort Zone?

A comfort zone is easy, predictable and reliable. It’s a routine – doing the same things you always do – because you know what to expect for the outcome. A comfort zone is a safe place with absolutely no stress and no anxiety. A comfort zone is going to your favorite restaurant and always ordering the same thing on the menu, instead of trying a new restaurant or something on the specials menu. Trying something new might make you prone to stress or anxiety. A comfort zone is like a bubble. To experience new things in life, it has to pop.

why you should get out of it

I was definitely content living in my comfort zone for the longest time. I was happy with my routines and their predictability. Life isn’t fun, though, if you’re always doing the same thing and stuck in a routine. You never truly get to experience life.

To embrace life

Stepping out of your comfort zone will help you embrace life and have new experiences. You’re not going to remember the times in life when you did the same thing today that you did yesterday. You’re going to remember the times you took a chance and did something different. My definition of living a rich, full life includes trying almost everything I possibly can and having a number of wonderful experiences. I can’t do that if I’m stuck in my comfort zone.

To move Forward

There’s only so far you can get in life by doing the same thing over and over again. At one point, you’re going to be stuck in a rut. You can’t move forward in life if you’re only open to doing what feels comfortable to you. Sometimes, there are going to be challenges. If you face those challenges and step out of your comfort bubble, you will be able to move forward and accomplish things. I feel like I’ve accomplished so much more, especially in terms of getting jobs and internships, by stepping out of my comfort zone and becoming more outgoing.

how

It’s really not easy to step out of your comfort zone. It should, in fact, be uncomfortable to do so. In the end, it will be worth it.

become comfortable with being uncomfortable

No one likes being uncomfortable. It’s like sitting in a hot room and not being able to get out (how I feel in my room right now writing this because the AC isn’t doing justice). I’ll admit, this is still something that I am continuously learning how to do. While I have branched out and started stepping out of my comfort zone, there is always room for improvement. The best way to be comfortable with being uncomfortable is by telling yourself that it will all be okay. The world is not going to end if you step out of your comfort zone. There won’t be some big life-altering change. Remind yourself that it’s okay to feel uncomfortable.

embrace new experiences

One way to become comfortable with being uncomfortable is by embracing new experiences. Trying something new is really scary. As I said before, tell yourself that it will all be okay. You will really never know what something will be like unless you try it. You can make up a million scenarios in your mind (something you should definitely avoid doing at all cost because it’s just going to drive you crazy) of how something will end, but you will never know how it will truly end until you live through it. Embrace a new experience with open arms.

say yes

We’ve all been there, there’s something we’ve really wanted to do or try but we’ve always held ourselves back from it. We constantly say no because that’s easier to do than taking a chance. Embrace new experiences by saying yes to them and taking that chance. Take a leap for once and step out of your comfort zone.

Have only Positive thoughts

You’re  never going to embrace or say yes to a situation if you only have negative thoughts about it. I did this a lot more in high school, but I still have a tendency to do so occasionally. Now, I try to turn those negative thoughts into positive ones. Find the positive aspects in every new situation to step out of your comfort zone. I can guarantee you the positive points will almost always outweigh the negative aspects.

 

I  know firsthand how hard it is to step out of a comfort zone. I also know how rewarding it is to do so. I’ve gained more of a sense of independence and freedom by letting myself say yes, embrace new experiences and start getting out of my comfort zone. As with many aspects of my life, there is still room for me to grow in stepping out of my comfort zone. It’s something I want to continue doing, and you should too.

Take a chance, my Dolls!

 

Take a chance on taking care of your skin this summer. Read “How Much Do My Skin Care Products Cost” to see what I use!

To get a more in-depth look at the world of The Porcelain Doll, be sure to follow me on InstagramTwitter and Pinterest. Also, check out my YouTube channel and my poetry blog.

4 thoughts on “How to Step Out of Your Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

