Current Playlist #2: Lust for Life

Current Playlist #2: Lust for Life

You only live once

It’s finally that time of the year when the semester is winding down, and your social life is (hopefully) heating up. Summer is just around the corner, and you can’t wait to take full advantage of it. You can’t wait to be spending the days and nights doing exactly what you want. Maybe, you’re planning on checking off a number of things on your bucket list. Or, maybe, you’re getting a kick-start in your career through an internship. Whatever you’re doing, this summer is yours’.

To me, summer always feels like a time to be free. Free from layers upon layers of winter clothes. Free from schoolwork, homework and studying. And, an over feeling of living my life how I please. Summer is a time to live freely and have a lust for life. It’s the time to take advantage of all that life has to offer. It’s a time to enjoy yourself and have new experiences. Over the past two weeks or so, I’ve been listening to a playlist that has lust for life as a common theme. I thought it fitting that this playlist could become the playlist for the beginning of summer.

Here’s what I’m listening to right now:

“Eyes Closed” – Halsey

Halsey has been one of my favorite artists since I heard “Is There Somewhere” back in 2015. I listened to her first studio album, Badlands, for a solid month and a half when it came out. Needless to say, I was stoked when I heard she was dropping new music. I listened to “Eyes Closed” on repeat the day it came out, nearly a week ago now. This song is mesmerizing, as most of her music is. The song opens up with Halsey’s voice sounding almost like a ghostly echo. The chorus cuts in and the beat drops, making the song even more tantalizing. The lyrics are just  as tantalizing and ghostly as the instrumental. It sounds like she is trying to get over someone by replacing him with another lover. Summer and having a lust for life is about letting go of the people who have left our lives and moving on to someone new. It is about living for the now and not thinking about the past. Give “Eyes Closed” a listen. I’m sure it’ll tantalize you.

Lust for Life worthy Lyrics:

“Now if I keep my eyes closed he feels just like you. But you’ve been replaced. I’m face to face with someone new.”

“Break My Heart” – Hey Violet

Hey Violet made an appearance in my last Current Playlist post, and they are definitely one of my new band-obsessions. Their music kind reminds me of something I would listen to in my early teenage years when I’d have crushes on guys who would never know. “Break My Heart” is slightly more grown up than some of their previous songs, but still brings me back to those high school days. Unlike “Guys My Age,” this is definitely not your typical breakup song. Lead singer, Rena Lovelis, says that she wants someone to break her heart. It’s the only thing her and her significant other haven’t done yet. So, why not just get it over with?  She wants to feel something. On the quest in having a lust for life, you have to be open to feeling all those emotions you might be scared to feel. Endings – whether it be a relationship ending or the summer ending – are bound to happen. So, why not have a good attitude about it, like in “Break My Heart?”

Lust for Life Worthy Lyrics:

“It’s like a drug, I can’t say no. Break my heart. On paradise I overdose. Break my heart. I’m curious to live and learn. Break my heart. So light me up and let me burn.”

“Kissing Strangers” – DNCE Feat. Nicki Minaj

Joe Jonas was always my favorite Jonas Brother. I was so excited when he started making new music with his new band, DNCE. I loved their first album, and now I love their new song, “Kissing Strangers” even more. The instrumental in this song has somewhat of a 70s vibe that is infused with lyrics that sound like they’re about today’s hookup culture. Nicki Minaj’s cameo brings the song back to sound more like a pop song from 2017, and makes for an interesting addition. This song is all about taking chances. It’s about going out to the bar or club and, not just kissing strangers, but having fun being young. Having a lust for life is all about taking chances and having fun. You’re young right now. Why not do things you won’t be able to later on in life? This song will definitely be your inspiration. I honestly cannot wait until this song gains more popularity because I think it would be a perfect song to hear at the bar or club.

LUST FOR LIFE WORTHY LYRICS:

“Open heart, open mind. Never know who you’ll find. Open heart, close your eyes. Kissing strangers.”

“Sex” – the 1975

Another song about taking chances is “Sex” by the 1975. I love the instrumentals in all of The 1975’s songs. They really draw you in. I like how the instrumental in this song slowly builds up and then takes off completely after the first line, “And, this is how it starts…” This song is about beginnings – the thrilling, exciting feelings that come along with getting to know someone. This song is about taking a chance on something that could be slightly dangerous (“She’s got a boyfriend anyway”). Summer and having a lust for life are about exactly that. They’re about living for the now and enjoying the people that are with you at this exact moment. It doesn’t matter what’s going to happen tomorrow. All that matters is today and right now. You don’t have to think about what happens beyond that. This song, like a lot of other songs from The 1975, give me more of a sunny, beach day, relaxed kind of feel. There is definitely a chill mood throughout the instrumental and lyrics of the song.

LUST FOR LIFE WORTHY LYRICS:

“Does he take care of you, or could I easily fill his shoes?”

“Lust for Life” – Lana Del Rey Feat. The Weeknd

If the title of this song doesn’t scream “lust for life worthy,” then I honestly don’t know what does. Another album I’m super stoked for is Lana Del Rey’s new one, “Lust for Life,” especially after hearing this song. Lana Del Rey and The Weeknd are a vocal match made in the highest of heavens. Lana is a pure queen in this song, as always, and The Weeknd is her doting prince. I love how each artist switches back and forth to sing the verses and pre-choruses, but come together to sing the chorus. Their vocals melt together to create a haunting, yet intoxicating song. This song is purely about taking advantage of all being young has to offer. It is, again, about taking chances, having fun and living for the moment. It’s about being happy and doing things that keep you on your toes. This song is sure to get stuck in your head. It’s such an amazing song. Why wouldn’t you want it stuck in your head?

LUST FOR LIFE WORTHY LYRICS:

“‘Cause we’re the masters of our own fate. We’re the captains of our own souls. So there’s no need for us to hesitate. We’re all alone, let’s take control.”

 

You’re young. It’s almost summer, and you’re going to finally be free. Why not have a little lust for life? Take a chance this summer and have fun. This summer is your summer. Listen to this playlist and enjoy whatever you end up doing.

Live freely this summer, my Dolls!

 

Need some advice on how to have a freer relationship with your parents? Read “Real Talk: Your Relationship with Your Parents as a Young Adult.”

To get a more in-depth look at the world of The Porcelain Doll, be sure to follow me on InstagramTwitter and Pinterest. Also check out my YouTube channel and my poetry blog.

6 thoughts on “Current Playlist #2: Lust for Life

Leave a Reply

